DGRSDT
Technical Platforms of Intensive Computing

The intensive computing or high performance computing (HPC : High Performance Computing) is a set of techniques and means ( computers, softwares and expertise) intended to deal with complex applications (simulation, design and scientific computation, ...) by using computers specializing in the fast processing of large volumes of digital data.

The fields of application of intensive computing are many, its mastery and its use have become indispensable. It has become an essential tool both for researchers and industrialists and practically in all disciplines. It can be found in :

• Hydrocarbons: tank modeling, seismography, discovery, and from refining to distribution.
• Industrial applications: fluid mechanics, assembly lines, reduction of vehicle weights, aircrafts, missiles, design and validation of cars,...
• Animations: film making (fires, water, surfaces ...).
• Creation of virtual world: games, medicine, military industry,...
• Daily life: prediction of customer behavior in supermarkets (example: correlation of a product A with another product B).
• General Relativity (solution of Einstein's equations).
• Resolution of equations (differential, partial derivatives ...).
• Molecular dynamics.
• Quantum chemistry.
• Astrophysics.
• Climate modeling.
• Weather.
• Finance.
• Etc, ...

Therefore, the nature and the profile of the means of calculation required by the scientific challenges are growing day by day, hence the need to increase the national calculation capacities by improving the power, the speed of processing and the storage

At present, research and development, deployment in international markets, industry, defense, etc., are measured by the capacity to intervene, in different fields, within optimum deadline, which means that each State tries to repositioning in terms of digital computing means. Algeria, aware of these challenges, confirms its ambition to resume its position and to be a regional leader in the medium term by strengthening these computing capacities.

This will be achieved through the deployment of intensive computing platforms at higher education and research institutions.

In the industrial environment the requirements are well defined and often unique, and in the laboratory environment, the requirements are multiple and heterogeneous by their natures which are related to research activities covering a multitude of disciplines: mathematics, physics, chemistry, medicine, engineering, different sciences...
In the first case (for industrialists) the choice and sizing of equipment and software are relatively simple, and the budgets allocated can be enormous given that there is a return on investment.
On the other hand, for laboratories where the diversity of scientific applications is specific to each and therefore important, the choice of a hardware and software solution is at least more complex, plus budgetary constraints.

In order to satisfy a majority of researchers in the immediate future, the Directorate-General for Scientific Research and Technological Development (DGRSDT) has allocated the necessary funds for the creation and equipping of twenty-five (25) Technical Platforms of Intensive Computing and decided to support the institutions concerned by this operation by bringing them together and by calling on specialists to define together a set of specifications that ensures, on the one hand, the different needs of each other and, on the other hand, the choice of a suitable architecture and to homogenize the technical characteristics of the equipment and software in order to ensure their compatibility for a possible use in a regional or national computer grid through the ARN network.

To this end, a working group was set up on the initiative of the DGRSDT, bringing together all the players involved in intensive computing in order to draw up a single set of specifications.

The researchers using Intensive Computing representing twelve (12) institutions have adopted a scalable common architecture, based on the latest technologies made up of several servers organized in clusters. This cluster consists of several dual-core and multi-core nodes, with 2GB of memory per core and 500GB of hard disk for each node, Giga Ethernet and QDR InfiniBand network interfaces and a 15TB storage capacity as well as accessories (cables, optical jumpers, KVM, screen,...) where the set is assembled in a 42U cabinet, 19". A cluster management and management platform based on free and standard software as well as the different libraries and compilers have been stopped.
The first beneficiaries of the acquisition are the universities of Oran, Houari Boumediene, Guelma, Constantine, Tlemcen, Sétif, Sidi Bel Abbes, Tizi-Ouzou, Annaba, Médéa, ENP of Oran and CERIST.

In a second phase, this list was extended to thirteen (13) other universities: Chlef, Skikda, Laghouat, Batna, Béjaïa, Biskra, Mostaganem, Mascara, Bordj Bou Arréridj, Ouargla, Djelfa, USTO and Jijel. The mapping of the distribution of these technical platforms of intensive computing is as follows :

(Mapping of the Technical Platforms of Intensive Computing)

Within the framework of the policy of valorization and connection between university-industry, the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research and especially that of the DGRSDT, institutions endowed with different common services, must commit themselves to develop collaborations with the industrial and socioeconomic world and examine all possibilities of cooperation: transfer of knowledge, audit, and expertise.
A wide range of competences exist in laboratories and research centres, multidisciplinary teams must be set up to make available to researchers and trainees as well as industrialists these means of calculation by accompanying these users (confirmed or not) in different stages of their work.
These technical platforms of intensive computing will provide all related services: software acquisition assistance, installation and configuration, support users, informing and making available to users the existing solutions, developing specific calculation codes, storing data.

الجمهورية الجزائرية الديمقراطية الشعبية

وزارة التعليم العالي والبحث العلمي

République Algérienne Démocratique et Populaire

Ministère de l’Enseignement Supérieur et de la Recherche Scientifique

People's Democratic Republic of Algeria

Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research

Direction générale de la Recherche
Scientifique et du développement Technologique

Plateaux Techniques de Calcul Intensif

Le calcul intensif ou calcul haute performance (HPC : High Performance Computing) est un ensemble de techniques et des moyens ( Ordinateurs, logiciels et expertise) destinés à traiter des applications complexes (simulation, conception et calcul scientifique, …) en faisant appel à des ordinateurs spécialisés dans le traitement rapide de gros volumes de données numériques.

Les domaines d’application du calcul intensif sont nombreux, sa maitrise et son utilisation sont devenus incontournables. Il est devenu un outil indispensable aussi bien pour les chercheurs que les industriels et pratiquement dans toutes les disciplines. On le retrouve dans :

• Les hydrocarbures: modélisation des réservoirs, sismographie, découverte, et du raffinage à la distribution.
• Applications industrielles : mécanique des fluides, chaines de montage, réduction des poids des véhicules, avions, missiles, conception et validation de voitures,...
• Animations : réalisation de films (incendies, eau, surfaces,...).
• Création de monde virtuel : jeux, médecine, industrie militaire,...
• La vie quotidienne : prévision de comportement du client dans les supermarchés (exemple corrélation d’un produit A avec un autre produit B)...
• Relativité Générale (solution des équations d’Einstein)
• Résolution des équations (différentielles, aux dérivées partielles,...).
• Dynamique moléculaire
• Chimie quantique
• Astrophysique
• Modélisation du climat.
• Météo.
• Finances.
• Etc,...

Donc, la nature et le profil des moyens de calcul exigés par les défis scientifiques croient de jour en jour d’où la nécessité d’augmenter les capacités nationales de calcul en améliorant la puissance, la rapidité de traitement et le stockage. En effet actuellement, la recherche développement, le déploiement sur les marchés internationaux, l’industrie, la défense,…. se mesurent par les capacités à intervenir, dans différents domaines, dans des délais optimums, ce qui fait que chaque état essaie de se repositionner en matière de moyen de calcul numérique. L’Algérie consciente de ce défis, confirme son ambition de reprendre sa position et d’être leader régional à moyen terme en renforçant ces capacités de calcul.

Ce renforcement passera par le déploiement de plateaux techniques de calcul intensif, au niveau des établissements de l’enseignement supérieur et de recherche.

Si dans le milieu industriel les exigences sont bien définies et souvent uniques, en milieu laboratoire, les exigences sont multiples et hétérogènes par leurs natures qui sont liées aux activités de recherche couvrant une multitude de disciplines : mathématique, physique, chimie, médecine, ingénierie, différentes sciences…
Dans le premier cas (pour les industriels) le choix et le dimensionnement des équipements et des logiciels s’avèrent relativement simple, et les budgets alloués peuvent être énormes vu qu’il y a un retour sur investissement.
Par contre pour les laboratoires, où la diversité des applications scientifiques, et spécifique à chacun, et par conséquent impôrtante, le choix d’une solution hardware et software est du moins plus complexe auxquelles s’ajoutent des contraintes budgétaires.

Afin de satisfaire une majorité de chercheurs dans l’immédiat la Direction Générale de la Recherche Scientifique et du Développement Technologique (DGRSDT) a octroyé les fonds nécessaires pour la mise en place et l’équipement de vingt Cinq (25) Plateaux Techniques de Calcul Intensif et a décidé de soutenir les établissements concernées par cette opération en les rassemblant et en faisant appel à des spécialistes, afin de définir ensemble un cahier des charges qui assure d’une part, les différents besoins des uns et des autres, et d’autre part, le choix d’une architecture convenable et d’homogénéiser les caractéristiques techniques des équipements et logiciels afin d’assurer leurs compatibilités pour une éventuelle utilisation dans une grille informatique régionale ou nationale à travers le réseau ARN.
A cet effet, un groupe de travail a été constitué à l’initiative de la DGRSDT, rassemblant l’ensemble des acteurs concernés par le calcul intensif pour établir un cahier des charges unique.

Les chercheurs utilisateurs du Calcul Intensif représentant douze (12) établissements ont adopté une architecture commune évolutive, basée sur les toutes dernières technologies composé de plusieurs serveurs organisés en cluster. Ce cluster est composé de plusieurs nœuds biprocesseurs et multi-cores, avec 2Go de mémoire par core et 500Go de disque dur pour chaque nœud, des interfaces réseaux Giga Ethernet et QDR Infiniband et une capacité de stockage de 15To ainsi que les accessoires (câbles, jarretières optique, KVM, écran,…) où l’ensemble est monté dans une armoire 42U, 19". Une plateforme d’administration et de gestion du cluster basé sur des logiciels libres et standard ainsi que les différentes librairies et compilateurs ont été arrêtés.

Les établissements bénéficiaires de cette acquisition, dans une première Phase, sont les universités d’Oran, Houari Boumediene, Guelma, Constantine, Tlemcen, Sétif, Sidi Bel Abbes, Tizi-Ouzou, Annaba, Médéa, l’ENP d’Oran et le CERIST.

Dans une deuxième phase, cette liste a été élargie à treize (13) autres universités. Chlef, Skikda, Laghouat, Batna, Bejaia, Biskra, Mostaganem, Mascara, Bordj Bou Arreridj, Ouargla, Djelfa, USTO et Jijel. La cartographie de la répartition de ces plateaux technique de calcul intensif est la suivante :

(Cartographie Plateaux Techniques de Calcul Intensif)

Dans le cadre de la politique de valorisation et du rapprochement université-industrie, du Ministère de l’Enseignement Supérieur et de la Recherche Scientifique et particulièrement celle de la DGRSDT, les établissements, dotés de différents services communs, doivent s’engager à développer des collaborations avec le monde industriel et socio-économique et examiner toutes les possibilités de coopération : transfert de savoir, audit, expertise….
Des domaines très diversifiés de compétences existent dans les laboratoires et centres de recherche, des équipes pluridisciplinaires doivent être constituées pour mettre à disposition, aussi bien des chercheurs et stagiaires que des industriels ces moyens de calcul en accompagnant ces utilisateurs (confirmés ou non) dans les différentes étapes de leurs travaux.
Ces plateaux techniques de calcul intensif assureront tous les services liés : aide à l’acquisition des logiciels, installation et configuration, support aux utilisateurs, informer et mettre à disposition des utilisateurs les solutions disponibles, développer des codes de calcul spécifiques, stocker des données…


<< Avril 2017 >>
DiLuMaMeJeVeSa
1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30